Product Documentation

FairCom ISAM for C

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Restore Point Files

Each time a Lightweight Restore Point or Checkpoint Restore Point is successfully established, a dedicated .FCS file is written. The Restore Point file contains the location in the log where the Restore Point is written, the system time at which the Restore Point was established, and a sequential serial number assigned to the Restore Point.

Lightweight Restore Point File

Prior to V11.5, the file for a Lightweight Restore Point is named as follows:


where YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS is the date and time at which the Restore Point was created (e.g., 20140804_152014 corresponds to 4 August 2014, 15:20 and 14 seconds)

The contents of the Restore Point file are formatted similar to a start file (S0000000/1.FCS).

File Names in V11.5 and Later

A change has been made in V11.2.3 to simplify determining which transaction logs are required for a restore to use this restore point. The restore point file naming has been updated to include the log number of the checkpoint that the restore point references.

  • This affects names of lightweight and checkpoint restore points.

The new formatting is as follows:



Where ####### is the transaction log number of the associated checkpoint.

Note: This is a Compatibility Change due to the new naming of restore point files.

Checkpoint Restore Point File

For a Checkpoint Restore Point, prior to V11.5, the file was named RSTPNT_CHKPNT.YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS.FCS. (See above for V11.5 and later.)

This Restore Point file is created by ctQUIET() by simply copying the start file created by the checkpoint (that does double-duty as a Restore Point). A start file for a Checkpoint Restore Point is the same as an ordinary start file. When rolling forward or backwards, Restore Point files provide a means to pass the target Restore Point information to a utility program.